Ballon d’Or 2018 favors Luka Modric over Messi and Ronaldo as the hour is ticking for the award

For the past 10 years now, Ronaldo and Messi have dominated the awards. They either would be winners or runner-up. Brazilian Kaka was the last player to win the award before Ronaldo and Messi started their dominance of the award.

Year Winner Second place Third place
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Antoine Griezmann
2015 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Franck Ribery
2012 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Andres Iniesta
2011 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2010 Lionel Messi Andres Iniesta Xavi
2009 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Fernando Torres
2007 Kaka Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Gianluigi Buffon Thierry Henry

From the chart, it is clear Ronaldo and Messi have won 5 of the awards each without anyone breaking in. But the 2018 Ballon d’Or may look different due to the performance of Luka Modric for his club and country. Especially during the World Cup, Modric was fantastic and he won the golden ball and the FIFA world best player award. Modric may be crowned the winner if the rating is really true.

At the World Cup, Ronaldo gave an account of himself but they lost out to Uruguay in the knockout stage while Messi and Argentina lost to the World Champions in the knockout stage.

However, Modric played a very important role in leading his country to the finals of the World Cup. He scored very important goals in the tournament. His goal against Argentina was rated among the goals of the tournament. He now is rated as the best centre midfielder in the World right now.

READ ALSO  Modric Wins 2018 Ballon d'Or prize

Elsewhere, Mbappe is making waves as he was part of the World Cup winning team of France. He was electrifying in the World Cup with his speed and goalscoring ability.

The 19-year-old was awarded the Young Player Award in Russia after scoring in the finals of the World Cup. He now is the second young player in history to score in a World Cup final after Brazilian star Pele scored in 1958. He is another favourite due to his recent form for his club PSG.



Related Articles

Check Also